Matt Damschroder, ODJFS Director



Children & Youth Department of Job & Family Services

**Department of** 

April 26, 2024

## Child Care Center Manual Procedure Letter No. 46 Family Child Care Manual Procedure Letter No. 39

- TO: All Child Care Center Manual Holders All Family Child Care Manual Holders
- FROM: Kara B. Wente, DCY Director Matt Damschroder, ODJFS Director

# SUBJECT: 2024 Child Care Choice Program

#### **Background:**

In Ohio, the average cost of child care for a family with two children in child care is just over \$22,600. The cost of child care makes working families face the difficult decision of whether they should go to work or stay home with their children. Additionally, approximately 13% of Ohio's children under the age of 6 live in families where someone quit, changed, or refused a job because of problems with child care.

Ohio's Publicly Funded Child Care (PFCC) program serves families earning up to 145% of the federal poverty level. In an effort to better support Ohio's families, the Ohio Department of Children and Youth is launching the Child Care Choice Program which allocates \$140 million to this new voucher program (\$40 million in American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA) supplemental discretionary funds and \$100 million from Child Care Development Fund).

### What is the Child Care Choice Program and who is eligible?

The Child Care Choice Program provides financial support to families working or going to school whose income is at 146-200% of the federal poverty level based on family size. The Child Care Choice voucher payments will assist with the cost of tuition for any child whose family meets the eligibility requirements of the Child Care Choice Program.

To apply for the Child Care Choice Program, families will apply for PFCC by completing a JFS 07200, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Cash Assistance, Medical and/or Child Care Assistance Application.

There are two ways an application may be completed:

• <u>Paper Application</u>, this application may be submitted by fax, email, mailing or by dropping off at your local county job and family services agency.

**Ohio Department of Children and Youth** Kara Wente, Director 246 N. High Street Columbus, OH 43215 U.S.A Ohio Department of Job and Family Services Matt Damschroder, Director 30 E. Broad Street Columbus, OH 43215 U.S.A. • <u>Ohio Benefits Self-Service Portal</u> (SSP), using the SSP families will be able to complete an e-application to apply for child care assistance. Families will also be able to upload required verification and submit the application to your local county job and family services.

Families who applied for PFCC on or after April 1, 2024 who are found ineligible on or after April 29, 2024, and whose income is at 146-200% of the federal poverty level will automatically be considered for this voucher without having to submit a new PFCC application. These vouchers are available until funding is exhausted. See chart below for income eligibility.

Family Size	Monthly Income must be above (145% FPL)	Monthly Income must be below (200% FPL)
2	\$2,383.00	\$3,287.00
3	\$3,004.00	\$4,144.00
4	\$3,625.00	\$5,000.00
5	\$4,247.00	\$5,857.00
6	\$4,868.00	\$6,714.00
7	\$5,489.00	\$7,571.00
8	\$6,110.00	\$8,427.00

Families will need to meet all other PFCC program requirements (except income) to be eligible. This flyer, <u>Who can get child care payment assistance?</u> provides information on PFCC program requirements. Eligibility determinations made for this voucher are not subject to state hearing rights and cannot be appealed. Families inquiring about how their eligibility was determined for this voucher may contact their local county department of job and family services.

Families who are eligible to receive PFCC do not qualify for the Child Care Choice Program. Additionally, individuals not complying with a PFCC repayment agreement or who have committed child care caretaker fraud are not eligible for the Child Care Choice Program.

### What are the reporting requirements for families?

Within 10 calendar days of a change, families approved for the Child Care Choice Program will report to their local county department of job and family services if any of the following occur:

- 1. Decreases in the family's gross monthly income.
- 2. Change of a child's program.
- 3. Changes in household members.
- 4. Address changes, including relocation out of state.

#### Will parents/guardians have a cost associated with the voucher?

Families may be required to pay a portion of the child care cost and any other related child care fees, if applicable, directly to the child care program. The amount of the cost is determined by

the family and the program. If the voucher does not cover the full cost of care, the program is encouraged to charge the family no more than 9% of the family's monthly gross income for their portion of the remaining tuition. In addition, the total cost of tuition (state paid voucher plus family's cost) may not exceed the provider's private rate. *For example, a family of 3 with a gross monthly income of \$3005.00 per month, should pay no more than a total payment of \$270.45 per month.* 

#### What are the child care program qualifications?

1. Families will select a licensed child care center, schools/preschools program or licensed family child care home to enroll their child(ren). Vouchers will not be paid to in-home aide providers or child day camps.

2. Programs have an active PFCC provider agreement.

3. Programs in "Open" status as verified in the Ohio Child Licensing and Quality System (OCLQS) and serving children. A temporarily closed program will not be eligible.

#### How will the voucher payments be disbursed?

The child will need to have an active full-time authorization to the program for voucher payments to be disbursed. Programs will be paid an initial enrollment payment upon authorization and 12 monthly payments as long as the child is enrolled and attending the program. No more than three enrollment payments will be paid per child within the eligibility year.

Vouchers will be paid to one program per child each month through the Time, Attendance and Payment (TAP) system. If the family chooses to have a child enrolled in multiple programs, they will need to self-pay the additional programs. Monthly voucher payments are determined by the child's age as outlined below.

Age	Total Voucher	Initial Enrollment Payment	Monthly Payments
Infant (birth to less than 18 months old)	\$10,400	\$800	\$800
Toddler (at least 18 months old to less than 3 years old)	\$9,750	\$750	\$750
Preschool (at least 3 or 4 years old and not enrolled	\$9,100	\$700	\$700

### Centers/ School-Based Programs/ Type A Family Child Care Homes

in or eligible to be enrolled in kindergarten)			
School Age			
(enrolled in or eligible to be enrolled in kindergarten or above and less than 15 years old or, in the case of a child who is receiving special needs child care, is less than eighteen years old.)	\$4,550	\$350	\$350

# Type B Family Child Care Homes

Age	Total Voucher	Initial Enrollment Payment	Monthly Payments
Infant (birth to less than 18 months old)	\$7,150	\$550	\$550
Toddler (at least 18 months old to less than 3 years old)	\$6,175	\$475	\$475
Preschool (at least 3 or 4 years old and not enrolled in or eligible to be enrolled in kindergarten)	\$5,200	\$400	\$400
School Age (enrolled in or eligible to be enrolled in	\$3,575	\$275	\$275

kindergarten or		
above and less than		
15 years old or, in		
the case of a child		
who is receiving		
special needs child		
care, is less than		
eighteen years old.)		

**To search for child care programs in Ohio:** Find Quality Rated Early Care and Education | Ohio Child Care Search

# **Questions:**

Family and Customer Support Center 1-877-302-2347, option 4 childcarepolicy@childrenandyouth.ohio.gov