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Federal or State minimum wage and mileage reimbursement 
which one do I use? 

Use Policy Wage or mileage  
Hours for FLSA Federal or State minimum wage, whichever is higher  

OAC rule 5101:1-3-12 (J) 
State minimum wage 

Self-employment hours 
for OWF work 
participation 

Federal minimum wage   
OAC rule 5101:1-3-12.1 (B)(5)  

Federal minimum wage 

FAET hours of 
participation 

Required 
hours of 
participation 

Federal or State minimum wage, 
whichever is higher 
OAC rule 5101:4-3-31(A)(1) 

State minimum wage 

FAET 
exemption 
(including 
self-  
employment)

Federal minimum wage   
OAC rule 5101:4-3-11(B)(10) 
OAC rule 5101:4-6-11(D)(E)(F)  

Federal minimum wage 
 
 

Job quit/  
reduction in 
work effort 

Federal minimum wage      
OAC rule 5101:4-3-19 (A)(2) 

Federal minimum wage  

Self-employment 
expenses 

Federal or state mileage rate, whichever is higher 
OAC rule 5101:1-3-12.1 (B)(5) 
OAC rule 5101:4-6-11 (C)(2)(xiii) 

Federal mileage 
reimbursement 

Medical expenses Federal or state mileage rate, whichever is higher 
OAC rule 5101:4-4-23 (C)(2)(j) 

Federal mileage 
reimbursement 

 
Federal Minimum Wage (as of 7/24/09)-------$7.25 per hour  
State of Ohio Minimum Wage (as of 1/1/12)---------$7.70 per hour 
 
Federal mileage reimbursement (as of 7/1/11) –--- 55.5¢ per mile 
State of Ohio mileage reimbursement (as of 5/1/09) ---- 45.0¢ per mile 
 

Minimum Wage History (TWAG table) 
 Prior to 

1/1/07 
1/1/07 7/24/07 1/1/08 7/24/0

8 
1/1/09 7/24/09 1/1/10 1/1/11 1/1/12 

Federal Minimum 
Wage1 

$5.15 $5.15 $5.85 $5.85 $6.55 $6.55 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 $7.25 

State Minimum 
Wage 

$5.15 $6.85 $6.85 $7.00 $7.00 $7.30 $7.30 $7.302 $7.40 $7.70 

 
Mileage History (TAEP, TFEP & TGEP tables) 

 Prior to 
1/1/07 

1/1/07 1/1/08 5/1/08 7/1/08 1/1/09 5/1/09 1/1/10 1/1/11 7/1/11 

Federal Mileage 44.5 48.5 50.5 50.5 58.5 55.0 55.0 50.0 51.0 55.5 
State Mileage 30.0 30.0 30.0 50.5 50.5 50.5 45.0 45.0 45.0 45.0 

                                                 
1 Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 amended the Fair Labor Standards Act to increase the federal minimum wage in                         
July 24, 2007; July 24, 2008; and July 24, 2009. 
 
2  Increase to the state minimum wage is based on the rate of inflation for 12-month period prior to consumer price 
index – no increase in January 2010  




